More on the Attwells

Well I have continued to research the Attwell/Smith line almost exclusively and now have several birth certificates, all with Elizabeth Attwell as the mother and no father’s name given. Crucially, Ernest Robert Attwell’s date of birth is 19th Jan 1884, the exact same date as I had been given for Robert Ernest Smith (my grandfather). He was born in Station Road in Egham, so I went back to the Rate Books for Egham and, in 1884, there is an entry for Robert Smith (the assumed father), living in Station Road, Egham, but the entry is crossed out. I assume that the family moved on during that year.

I also now have the birth certificates for Albert George Attwell & Edith Attwell. Albert was born in Hythe Fields, Egham in 1892 and Edith at Frog’s Island, Egham in 1890. These both tally with the Smith family living at Frog’s Island in the 1891 census (Hythe fields appears to have been a general area in which Frog’s Island was a part) I have yet to find any of the other children’s birth certificates.

I decided to check the baptisms for Old Windsor (where the Windsor Union Workhouse is located). In looking through the Parish Registers at the Berkshire Records Office, I noticed that the Old Windsor Baptism book from 1861 onwards was not present. One of the staff suggested I contact the vicar of the church in Old Windsor and, sure enough, he still had that particular book, so I made an appointment, paid my fee & sat down with the book. In there I found the baptism records for Alice Attwell (20 Dec 1881, daughter of Elizabeth Attwell, Single Woman, Windsor Union Workhouse), Ellen Attwell (28 Feb 1888, daughter of Elizabeth Attwell, Single Woman, Windsor Union Workhouse), a Frederick William Attwell (6 Jul 1897, son of Elizabeth Attwell, Single Woman, Windsor Union Workhouse), an Ernest Attwell (9 Jan 1906, son of Elizabeth Attwell, Single Woman, Windsor Union Workhouse) and a William Frederick Attwell (16 Apr 1909, son of Elizabeth Attwell, Single Woman, Crimp Hill, Old Windsor).

Looking at that data a few things spring to mind. Elizabeth already had a son named Ernest (my grandfather) and, referring to the BMD registers, the only Attwell born in Windsor district in that year (or the surreounding years) is one Robert Attwell (sounds like another Robert Ernest/Ernest Robert issue!). Also, referring to BMD again, Frederick William & William Frederick were both registered as Frederick William Attwell. Now the first one may have died and she’s named the next one the same but I have another theory. Remember in the last post, I mentioned I had found a Frederick Attwell mentioned in the Windsor Union Workhouse Relatives’ book? Well, his relative was given as ‘Mrs Smith (Attwell), grandmother…’ So this Frederick must have been the son of her eldest daughter, also Elizabeth Attwell. This leads me to suspect that the Ernest/Robert that was baptised in Old Windsor in 1906 was also the younger Elizabeth’s son. I know that the younger Elizabeth spent time in the workhouse around that time because she is mentioned in the Punishment Book: 3rd Oct 1904, Elizabeth Attwell aged 27 – Disorderly Conduct – to be confined in a separation ward, one day, 3 meals low diet.

I’m in two minds whether to order the birth certificates for these latest children as I won’t be able to tell which Elizabeth was the mother.

I have also now got the marriage certificates for Elizabeth (the elder)’s daughters Kate & Ellen. Ellen did indeed marry Frank Bissett (mentioned in a previous post) and Kate married William Reginald Caister Prangley (again, mentioned in a previous post). I already had Robert Ernest (my grandfather)’s marriage certificate. They all married as Smith. Ellen Smith was a witness at Kate’s marriage and Edith was a witness at Ellen’s marriage.

I am going back to the BRO tomorrow to do some more digging and I was also contacted by a descendant of Ellen Attwell/Smith recently (through this blog) so, hopefully I may find out even more about this frustrating yet fascinating family!

One Response to More on the Attwells

  1. Pingback: The 1911 Census and me « Neil Smith’s Genealogy Blog

Leave a Reply

